Wednesday, July 30, 2008

Getting to know each other

Sing along with me:
Getting to know you,
Getting to know all about you.
Getting to like you,
Getting to hope you like me.

Getting to know you,
Putting it my way,
But nicely,
You are precisely,
My cup of tea.

Getting to know you,
Getting to feel free and easy.
When I am with you,
Getting to know what to say.

Haven't you noticed
Suddenly I'm bright and breezy?
Because of all the beautiful and new
Things I'm learning about you
Day .. by ... day.



We need to get better acquainted, so in the comments let's all tell each other something about ourselves. I have a meeting tonight, but I promise to leave a comment soon telling you about ME. So who's willing to go first?

18 comments:

Zorro said...

I am wife to JJ (42 years next week), mother of 3, and grandmother of Brendan (13), Maddie (11), and Olivia (1). I am a retired science teacher and now work as a volunteer and a part-time nature workshop facilitator at Cibolo Nature Center in Boerne, Texas. I never had much time to read before I retired, so I am trying to make up for that now!

alisonwonderland said...

happy anniversary, zorro!

i am the mother of three, two girls (17 and 12) and a boy (9). i am also an accountant and work for a non-profit organization. i have been an avid reader since i was a child, and i enjoy reading a wide variety of genres. i wish i read more quickly than i do, since i don't have as much time to read as i'd like. my goal for 2008 is to read 104 books - but i'm a bit behind that pace. i belong to two IRL book groups, and i enjoy talking about books with other book lovers.

Neco said...

Happy anniversary, Zorro! Do you have any special plans to celebrate?

Alison, how many books have you read so far this year?

I'm Jenn(ifer Anne), I'm 27, and I live in Charleston, SC with my husband, Chris, and our two cats, BIN and Sakai. I'm a pharmacist in the main adult pharmacy at a large teaching hospital (a little more than part-time) and I'm working on my MBA (part-time). Other than the BBs, I read with the Someday Book Club and the Happy Bookers Club online. I'd love to belong to an IRL book club but I haven't found one in my area.

Shirley said...

Fantastic insertion of the song! You are quite the high tech person, Bonnie!

I am an auditor working for the state of Kansas. I have been married for 39 years to Jim who is retired from the railroad. We have three children: Brendan who died unexpectedly on August 4 last year at age 29 of cardiomyopathy, Erin who is 28, and Daniel who is 25.

I am not reading as much as I used to as I have less time after taking a new job as a supervisor and having had more difficulties focusing on things. I had already been trying to spend more time doing other projects (such as sewing and quilting). Being part of this book group has encouraged me to read books that I otherwise would not have read and keeps me in the reading mode more than I would otherwise be at this stage in my life.

Marylyn S said...

Happy anniversary Zorry! me and my Jon just had our 10th on the 20th of July.

I am 38 active duty Marine Gunnery Sergeant stationed in Korea. My husband is about to go back to Iraq. We have 5 wonderful dogs, Trooper, Babie, Princess, LilMan and Missy. I am half way through my Masters Degree in Political Science. I hope to be done by this time next year. I love to read any and everything. I am also trying to get a IRL book club started here in Seoul but not having much luck. I am really glad to have found Bonnie and all the others that keep me connected to home.

Bonnie Jacobs said...

What fun! So far we've heard from a retired science teacher and nature workshop facilitator, an accountant, a pharmacist at a teaching hospital (and another pharmacist who still needs to come here to tell us more about herself ... hi, Ellen), an auditor for the state of Kansas, and a Marine Gunnery Sergeant stationed overseas.

I am mother of three (twin daughters, 48, and a son, 45) and seven grandchildren ranging in age from Kendall, who'll be 22 in September and is buying his first house, to Cady, who's 8 and helps me write book reviews. Click this link to read Cady's reviews.

I'm an ordained minister who retired and opened a bookstore (which Marylyn visited before it closed ... she even helped pack books in boxes for storage ... thanks, Marylyn). I enjoyed teaching religions of the world at Chattanooga State for nearly a decade. It's nice to see that Jenn is working on an MBA and Marylyn on an MS in Political Science; I have an MDiv, Master of Divinity, from Emory University in Atlanta. Before going to seminary, I was an editor who produced a couple of in-house publications, and then I moved into management training for the same government agency. (Shirley, one of my daughters has worked in Environment and Conservation for the state of Tennessee for almost 30 years.) While my children were young, I was a freelance writer so I could be home with them ... so I've been published locally, nationally, and internationally.

Currently, I discuss books with three IRL (in real life) book clubs as well as Book Buddies online.

Chain Reader said...

Hello, Book Buddies! I have had a super busy summer so far, and I'm hoping that will change a little now. I am listening to Suite Fancaise already.

I was wondering what IRL meant--thank you Bonnie! (Incidentally, I belong to 4 IRL book clubs.)

I feel rather unaccomplished after reading the other comments! I had a scholarship that I gave up (stupid, I know)to go into a nursing program, took only the prerequisites for the NP, got married, got pregnant soon thereafter, taught preschool until my daughter was born, and have been a Crazy-at-Home-Mom ever since. I have no Bachelors or Master's degrees to boast of, but I do have two associate's degrees, which show my indecision more than anything else. I would love to go back to school, but I still haven't decided what I want to be when I grow up. (I'm 35.)

I have 4 kids (14, 12, 9, 6) who will be attending 4 different schools, on three different "tracks." I like painting, sewing, and dream of having a vegetable garden, but I usually grab a book when I have free time because it doesn't cost any money and it doesn't make a mess.

Marylyn S said...

Hi Chain reader,
You should in no way feel unaccomplished “4 kids (14, 12, 9, 6)”, you could rule the world. We all make our choices and there is always something sacrificed in doing that but to guide 4 young people to become successful productive members of the world is an accomplishment that compares to very little else.

Marylyn

Bonnie Jacobs said...

Shelley (Chain Reader) said, "I ... dream of having a vegetable garden."

I have to tell you about having a vegetable garden. See what I posted yesterday:

http://bonniesbooks.blogspot.com/2008/07/picture-perfect-tomato.html

Ellen D. said...

I am 42, married almost 18 years, mother of 2 (15 year old boy, 12 year old girl. I work 2 long days a week as a pharmacist in an independent pharmacy in a small town in northwest Georgia--the job is not my passion in life, but it pays the kids' tuition to a great school, and I love everything about that! My passions, other than my family, are writing, reading, running, yoga, and photography, and there is never time enough for any of them! This is my first year with a small raised garden--seems like somewhat of a theme. It was a lot of work to start with, now just yum until it gives out. Some success, some flops, which I say is a success. I am friends with Bonnie IRL; we met online during National Novel Writing Month last year and then face to face starting early this year.

alisonwonderland said...

i'm really enjoying learning a bit about everybuddy!

chain reader: i've got a master's degree (MAcc) in accountancy but i still don't know what i want to be when i grow up! :)

Neco said...

I'm enjoying learning some or more, in some cases, about everybody.

Ellen, I did my undergrad at Clemson which is close to northwest Ga.

Shelley, I'm totally a permanent student. I just love learning. And I still don't know what I want to be when I grow up. I hope to start a second career in my 50s in teaching or writing or something.

Marylyn S said...

Bonnie,
As I read and make up DQ as I go I get a real insight (small I still know this is only scratching the surface of all that you put into this group of reading)into what you go through. It is really quite hard. But I will have some good disscussion items up very soon.
Marylyn

Marylyn S said...

Ellen,
I live in Ga too, Douglasville. Though I havent seen my house in almost 2 years now but one day... I will make it back there.

Bonnie Jacobs said...

Thank you, Marylyn. Yes, it's a lot of work, and I really DO appreciate this break from doing it all myself. I'll look around and find something else to post, since you are doing the main things for us. If you have any questions, Marylyn, just email me (or ask here on the blog).

Marylyn S said...

Bonnie,
When I do ask for help you will know I am desperate. I am determined to let you relax and enjoy just being a member of the reading circle and input only what and when you want to.

Ellen D. said...

Neco, I've been to Clemson...thought about going to college there many years ago. I'd love a second career in my 50's :) Seems like there are not that many writer/reader types in pharmacy.

Marylyn, You are still in Korea? You are on an adventure. I have a cousin in Douglasville. I was going to say isn't it a small world, but I think you'd be more qualified than me to say whether it is or not!

Marylyn S said...

Ellen,
Yes I am still in Korea, I have taken acouple of breaks for training. Last October I went to Hawaii for two weeks and this past May I was in Okinawa for 7 weeks. But all and all I would say that yes it is a small world. In that as differant as each and every place and people are when you get down to it we are really all so much the same.

I google earth my house about once a month. Does anyone else do that?